

# Transit District Board Member Election Process District 10

# Clayton, Coweta, Fayette, Fulton and Henry Counties

### HB 930 SNAPSHOT

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 10 includes parts of Clayton, Fulton and Henry and all of Coweta and Fayette Counties.

## Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 10, the mayors convened on August 27, 2018. Hampton Mayor Steve Hutchinson was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 10 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Atlanta*	Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms	Moreland	Mayor Dick Ford
Brooks	Mayor Daniel Langford	Newnan	Mayor Keith Brady
Chattahoochee Hills	Mayor Tom Reed	Palmetto	Mayor Clark Boddie
College Park	Mayor Jack Longino	Peachtree City	Mayor Vanessa Fleisch
Fairburn	Mayor Elizabeth Hurst	Riverdale	Mayor Evelyn Wynn-Dixon
Fayetteville	Mayor Edward Johnson	Senoia	Mayor Jeff Fisher
Forest Park	Mayor Angelyne Butler	Sharpsburg	Mayor Elizabeth Good
Grantville	Mayor Douglas Jewell	South Fulton	Mayor Bill Edwards
Hampton	Mayor Steve Hutchison	Stockbridge	Mayor Anthony Ford
Haralson	Mayor Audrey Holliday	Turin	Mayor Alan Starr
Jonesboro	Mayor Joy Day	Tyrone	Mayor Eric Dial
<b>Locust Grove</b>	Mayor Robert Price	Union City	Mayor Vince Williams
Lovejoy	Mayor Bobby Cartwright	Woolsey	Mayor Gary Laggis
McDonough	Mayor Billy Copeland		

<sup>\*</sup>In addition, the mayor of Atlanta is automatically a member of the voting caucus for the board member election.

# **Step 2:** Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

# For Transit District 10, Chair Al Smith of Coweta County would call for the meeting.

This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 10;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 10; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 10, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 31 elected officials:

### **LEGISLATORS**

Senator Emanuel Jones Senator Marty Harbin Senator Brian Strickland	District 10 District 16 District 17	Senator Donzella James Senator Nan Orrock Senator Nikema Williams	District 35 District 36 District 39
Senator Matt Brass Senator Valencia Seay	District 28 District 34	Senator Gail Davenport	District 44
Representative Kim Schofield Representative Debra Bazemore Representative Derrick Jackson Representative Sharon Beasley-Teague Representative Lynn Smith Representative David Stover Representative Josh Bonner Representative Karen Mathiak	District 60 District 63 District 64 District 65 District 70 District 71 District 72 District 73	Representative Valencia Stovall Representative Mike Glanton Representative Rhonda Burnough Representative Demetrius Douglas Representative Geoff Cauble Representative David Knight Representative Bob Trammell	

## LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

Clayton County Commission Chair	Jeff
<b>Coweta County Commission Chair</b>	AIS
<b>Fayette County Commission Chair</b>	Eric
<b>Fulton County Commission Chair</b>	Rob
Henry County Commission Chair	June

Jeff Turner Al Smith Eric Maxwell Robb Pitts June Wood

Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms Hampton Mayor Steve Hutchinson

**Certification:** The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 10, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (who will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs

o: 404.893.2055 c: 678.471.7259



