

# Transit District Board Member Election Process District 3

#### Cobb, DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett Counties

# **HB 930 SNAPSHOT**

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 3 includes parts of Cobb, DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett Counties.

## Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 3, the mayors convened on August 29, 2018. Sandy Springs Mayor Rusty Paul was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 3 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Atlanta* Brookhaven	Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms Mayor John Ernst	Kennesaw Marietta	Mayor Derek Easterling Mayor Steve Tumlin
Chamblee	Mayor Eric Clarkson	<b>Peachtree Corners</b>	Mayor Mike Mason
Doraville	Mayor Donna Pittman	Sandy Springs	Mayor Rusty Paul
Dunwoody	Mayor Denis Shortal	Smyrna	Mayor Max Bacon

<sup>\*</sup>In addition, the mayor of Atlanta is automatically a member of the voting caucus for the board member election.

## **Step 2:** Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

For Transit District 3, Chair Mike Boyce of Cobb County would call for the meeting. This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 3;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 3; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 3, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 32 elected officials:

#### **LEGISLATORS**

Senator Curt Thompson Senator Jennifer Jordan Senator Bruce Thompson	District 5 District 6 District 14	Senator Lindsey Tippins Senator Nikema Williams Senator Fran Millar	District 37 District 39 District 40
Senator Kay Kirkpatrick Senator Michael "Doc" Rhett	District 32 District 33	Senator John Albers	District 5
Representative Bert Reeves	District 34	Representative Deborah Silcox	District 52
Representative Ed Setzler	District 35	Representative Sheila Jones	District 53
Representative Sam Teasley	District 37	Representative Beth Beskin	District 54
Representative Rich Golick	District 40	Representative Marie Metze	District 55
Representative Teri Anulewicz	District 42	Representative Tom Taylor	District 79
Representative Sharon Cooper	District 43	Representative Meagan Hanson	District 80
Representative Don Parsons	District 44	Representative Scott Holcomb	District 81
Representative Matt Dollar Representative John Carson	District 45 District 46	Representative Scott Hilton	District 95

#### LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

**Cobb County Commission Chair DeKalb County CEO Fulton County Commission Chair Gwinnett County Commission Chair** Charlotte Nash

Mike Boyce Michael Thurmond Robb Pitts

**Atlanta Mayor** Keisha Lance Bottoms **Sandy Springs Mayor** Rusty Paul

Certification: The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 3, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (who will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs

o: 404.893.2055 c: 678.471.7259



