

# Transit District Board Member Election Process District 4

### **Cobb and Paulding Counties**

#### HB 930 SNAPSHOT

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 4 includes parts of Cobb and all of Paulding Counties.

## Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 4, the mayors convened on August 23, 2018. Powder Springs Mayor Albert Thurman was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 4 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Acworth	Mayor Thomas Allegood		
Austell	Mayor Joe Jerkins		
Braswell	Mayor Richard Fennell		
Dallas	Mayor Boyd Austin		
Hiram	Mayor Teresa Philyaw		
Kennesaw	Mayor Derek Easterling		
Marietta	Mayor Steve Tumlin		
Powder Springs	Mayor Albert Thurman		
Smyrna	Mayor Max Bacon		

## **Step 2:** Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

For Transit District 4, Chair Mike Boyce of Cobb County would call for the meeting. This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 4;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 4; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 4, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 24 elected officials:

#### **LEGISLATORS**

Senator Jennifer Jordan	District 6 District 30 District 31	Senator Michael "Doc" Rhett	District 33
Senator Mike Dugan		Senator Lindsey Tippins	District 37
Senator Bill Heath		Senator Horacena Tate	District 38
Representative Paulette Rakestraw Representative Bert Reeves Representative Ed Setzler Representative Earl Ehrhart Representative Sam Teasley	District 17 District 19 District 34 District 35 District 36 District 37 District 38 District 39	Representative Rich Golick Representative Michael Smith Representative Teri Anulewicz Representative Don Parsons Representative Roger Bruce Representative Kimberly Alexander Representative Micah Gravley	District 40 District 41 District 42 District 44 District 61 District 66 District 67

#### LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

Cobb County Commission Chair	Mike Boyce	Powder Springs Mayor
Paulding County Commission Chair	Dave Carmichael	Al Thurman

**Certification:** The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 4, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (which will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs





