

# Transit District Board Member Election Process District 7

### DeKalb, Gwinnett and Rockdale Counties

#### HB 930 SNAPSHOT

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 7 includes parts of DeKalb and Gwinnett Counties, and all of Rockdale County.

## Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 7, the mayors convened on August 27, 2018. Stone Mountain Mayor Patricia Wheeler was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 7 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Clarkston Mayor Ted Terry
Conyers Mayor Vince Evans
Lithonia Mayor Deborah Jackson
Loganville Mayor Rey Martinez
Pine Lake Mayor Melanie Hammet
Snellville Mayor Pro Tem Barbara Bender

Stone MountainMayor Pat WheelerStonecrestMayor Jason LaryTuckerMayor Frank Auman

## **Step 2:** Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

For Transit District 7, CEO Michael Thurmond of DeKalb County would call for the meeting. This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 7;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 7; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 7, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 28 elected officials:

### **LEGISLATORS**

Senator Curt Thompson Senator P.K. Martin	District 5 District 9	Senator Fran Millar Senator Steve Henson	District 40 District 41
Senator Emanuel Jones	District 10	Senator Tonya Anderson	District 43
Senator Brian Strickland	District 17	Senator Gloria Butler	District 55
Representative Scott Holcomb	District 81	Representative Dar'shun Kendrick	District 93
Representative Karla Drenner	District 85	Representative Karen Bennett	District 94
Representative Michele Henson	District 86	Representative Brenda Lopez	District 99
Representative Coach Williams	District 87	Representative Brett Harrell	District 106
Representative Billy Mitchell	District 88	Representative Clay Cox	District 108
Representative Pam Stephenson	District 90	Representative Dale Rutledge	District 109
Representative Vernon Jones	District 91	Representative Pam Dickerson	District 113
Representative Doreen Carter	District 92	Representative Tom Kirby	District 114

## LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

DeKalb County CEO	Michael Thurmond	Stone Mountain Mayor
<b>Gwinnett County Commission Chair</b>	Charlotte Nash	Pat Wheeler
<b>Rockdale County Commission Chair</b>	Oz Nesbitt	

**Certification:** The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 7, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (who will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs





