

Transit District Board Member Election Process District 5

DeKalb and Fulton Counties

HB 930 SNAPSHOT

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 5 includes parts of DeKalb and Fulton Counties.

Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 5, the mayors convened on Speptember 10, 2018. Brookhaven Mayor John Ernst was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 5 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Atlanta*	Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms	Decatur	Mayor Patti Garrett
Avondale Estates	Mayor Jonathan Elmore	Doraville	Mayor Donna Pittman
Brookhaven	Mayor John Ernst	East Point	Mayor Deana Holiday Ingraham
Chamblee	Mayor Eric Clarkson	Hapeville	Mayor Alan Hallman
Clarkston	Mayor Ted Terry	Tucker	Mayor Frank Auman
College Park	Mayor Jack Longino		

*In addition, the mayor of Atlanta is automatically a member of the voting caucus for the board member election.

Step 2: Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

For Transit District 5, Chair Robb Pitts of Fulton County would call for the meeting. This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 5;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 5; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 5, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 31 elected officials:

LEGISLATORS

Senator Jennifer Jordan Senator Nan Orrock Senator Horacena Tate Senator Nikema Williams	District 6 District 36 District 38 District 39	Senator Fran Millar Senator Steve Henson Senator Elena Parent	District 40 District 41 District 42
Representative Sheila Jones	District 53	Representative Tom Taylor	District 79
Representative Beth Beskin	District 54	Representative Meagan Hanson	District 80
Representative Marie Metze	District 55	Representative Scott Holcomb	District 81
Representative Able Mable Thomas	District 56	Representative Mary Margaret Oliver	District 82
Representative Pat Gardner	District 57	Representative Howard Mosby	District 83
Representative Park Cannon	District 58	Representative Renitta Shannon	District 84
Representative David Dreyer	District 59	Representative Karla Drenner	District 85
Representative Kim Schofield	District 60	Representative Michele Henson	District 86
Representative Roger Bruce	District 61	Representative Coach Williams	District 87
Representative William Boddie	District 62	Representative Bee Nguyen	District 89

LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

DeKalb County CEO Michael Thurmond

Fulton County Commission Chair Robb Pitts Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms

Brookhaven Mayor John Ernst

Certification: The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 5, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (which will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs o: 404.893.2055 c: 678.471.7259 Shaggard@srta.ga.gov

