

Transit District Board Member Election Process District 8

Cobb, Douglas and Fulton Counties

HB 930 SNAPSHOT

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different "Transit Districts" that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be elected no later than December 1, 2018. District 8 includes parts of Cobb and Fulton and all of Douglas Counties.

Step 1: Mayoral Representation in District Election

HB 930 states that "one mayor from the municipalities located within" each authority district will be chosen from "a caucus of all mayors from the municipalities located within" each authority district, for the purpose of participating in the election of that district's ATL board member. For District 8, the mayors convened on September 11, 2018. South Fulton Mayor Bill Edwards was selected to serve as the mayors' representative in the election for the Transit District 8 board member election, which occurs in step 2.

Atlanta* Austell Chattahoochee Hills College Park Douglasville	Mayor Jack Longino Mayor Rochelle Robinson	Fairburn Palmetto Smyrna South Fulton Union City	Mayor Elizabeth Hurst Mayor Clark Boddie Mayor Max Bacon Mayor Bill Edwards Mayor Vince Williams
East Point	Mayor Deana Holiday Ingraham	Villa Rica	Mayor Vince Williams Mayor Jeff Reese

^{*}In addition, the mayor of Atlanta is automatically a member of the voting caucus for the board member election.

Step 2: Election of Board Member Involving Legislators and Local Elected Officials

HB 930 provides that for each District, "a resident" of that district who "possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of" the ATL is to be elected by a caucus of elected officials. The chair of the board of commissioners from the county with the largest population represented in the Transit District ("Chair") shall call a meeting of the caucus.

For Transit District 8, Chair Robb Pitts of Fulton County would call for the meeting. This caucus includes:

- a) All state Senate and House members whose legislative districts are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 8;
- b) All county commission chairs whose counties are included in whole or in part within ATL Transit District 8; and
- c) A mayor who has been selected from a caucus of mayors outlined above in Step 1.

For District 8, the slate of participants in the Transit District election is composed of the following 32 elected officials:

LEGISLATORS

Senator Jennifer Jordan Senator Matt Brass	District 6 District 28	Senator Donzella James Senator Nan Orrock	District 35 District 36
Senator Mike Dugan	District 30	Senator Horacena Tate	District 38
Senator Michael "Doc" Rhett	District 33	Senator Nikema Williams	District 39
Representative David Wilkerson	District 38	Representative Kim Schofield	District 60
Representative Erica Thomas	District 39	Representative Roger Bruce	District 61
Representative Rich Golick	District 40	Representative William Boddie	District 62
Representative Michael Smith	District 41	Representative Debra Bazemore	District 63
Representative Teri Anulewicz	District 42	Representative Derrick Jackson	District 64
Representative Sheila Jones	District 53	Representative Sharon Beasley-Teague	District 65
Representative Marie Metze	District 55	Representative Kimberly Alexander	District 66
Representative Able Mable Thomas	District 56	Representative Micah Gravley	District 67
Representative Pat Gardner	District 57	Representative J. Collins	District 68
Representative Park Cannon	District 58		

LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS

Cobb County Commission Chair
Douglas County Commission Chair

Fulton County Commission Chair

Mike Boyce Romona Jackson-Jones Robb Pitts Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms

South Fulton Mayor Bill Edwards

Certification: The Chair must provide notice to the ATL, certifying the attendance of those who participated in the Step 2 vote, the person who was elected by the caucus, and the tally of votes.

Once the caucus in Step 2 elects an ATL Board Member for District 8, this member will join 9 other similarly-elected Board members from the other 9 ATL Transit Districts, as well as 2 appointees from the Lt. Governor, 2 appointees from the Speaker of the House, one appointee by the Governor (who will serve as the Chair of the Board), and the non-voting Commissioner of Transportation, to comprise the entire 16-member ATL Board of Directors.

The ATL has additional information on suggested ways to implement the vote.

For more information on the ATL, visit http://www.srta.ga.gov/atl/.

For direct questions, please contact:

Scott Haggard,

ATL Director of Government and External Affairs

o: 404.893.2055 c: 678.471.7259



