

## Office of Communications & Engagement 245 Peachtree Center Avenue, Suite 2200 • Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Ericka B. Bayonne Chief Communications Officer 404-893-3004, office 404-226-9339, cell <u>ebayonne@srta.ga.gov</u> Tiffany L. McCall Communications & Media Director 404-893-3025, office 470-249-7531, cell tmccall@srta.ga.gov

For Immediate Release: January 26, 2023

## Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) to Hold Mayoral Caucuses for Upcoming Board Elections for Districts 2,4,6,8,10 Caucuses will be held via teleconference on Friday, January 27, 2023

ATLANTA - The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority will hold five Mayoral Caucuses to select the Mayoral Representative for Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10. Each Caucus will select a

mayor from amongst their group to represent them in the upcoming ATL District board member elections scheduled to occur at the State Capitol on March 8 and 9, 2023.

**WHO:** Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority and Mayors of cities within ATL Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10.

**WHAT:** The mayors of cities within ATL Districts 2,4, 6, 8, and 10 are scheduled to meet on Friday for the first step necessary to select each ATL board member representing those districts. The ATL is responsible for coordinating transit planning and funding across 13 metro counties and ensuring plans connect efficiently across jurisdictions. The mayors selected at each of these meetings will participate as electors in the Board Member elections, scheduled for March 8 and 9. They are included along with other electors as called for by state law comprised of state representatives and senators whose districts overlap with each ATL District, and the Mayor of Atlanta (in ATL Districts which contain parts of the City of Atlanta). Board Members elected on March 8 and 9 will serve four-year terms on the ATL Board, expiring on April 15, 2027.

District 2 includes parts of Forsyth, Fulton, and Gwinnett Counties. District 4 includes all of Paulding and parts of Cobb County. District 6 includes parts of Gwinnett County. District 8 includes all of Douglas County, and parts of Cobb and Fulton Counties. District 10 includes all of Coweta and Fayette Counties, and parts of Clayton, Fulton, and Henry Counties.

WHEN: Friday, January 27, 2023, as scheduled:

10:00 a.m. – District 4 Mayoral Caucus

11:00 a.m. - District 6 Mayoral Caucus

11:30 a.m. – District 2 Mayoral Caucus

1:00 p.m. – District 8 Mayoral Caucus

1:30 p.m. – District 10 Mayoral Caucus

**WHERE:** The ATL is holding the Mayoral Caucuses via teleconference. The public will be afforded simultaneous access to the teleconference meetings by the means described in this notice.

Click here to view the teleconference meeting for District 4

Click here to view the teleconference meeting for District 6

Click here to view the teleconference meeting for District 2

Click here to view the teleconference meeting for District 8

Click here to view the teleconference meeting for District 10

## About the Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority

The ATL was created by the Georgia General Assembly during the 2018 legislative session to provide coordinated transit planning and funding for the metro Atlanta region. The ATL is responsible for developing the ATL Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit. The ATL is also charged with creating a unified regional transit system brand. Effective July 1, 2020, the ATL was legislatively authorized to oversee the state's Xpress regional commuter transit system and the Atlanta region's vanpool system. The population of metro Atlanta is growing rapidly and projected to add an additional 2.5 million residents by 2040. The ATL is a critical step towards more efficient and effective transit and mobility in the region. For more information on Xpress and the ATL, visit <u>https://atltransit.ga.gov/</u> and follow us on Twitter and Facebook.