

#### 245 Peachtree Center Avenue, Suite 2200 • Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Tiffany L. McCall Communications & Media Director 404-893-3025, office 470-249-7531, cell <u>tmccall@atltransit.ga.gov</u>

**For Immediate Release:** March 26, 2025

# Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority (ATL) Holds Board Member Elections

Atlanta City Councilmember Alex Wan elected to District 5; DeKalb County CEO Lorraine Cochran-Johnson elected to District 7; and board members for Districts 1,3, and 9 re-elected

ATLANTA – The Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority (ATL) held board member elections on March 18, 2025 and March 20, 2025, and is officially announcing election results for ATL Districts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9.

## District 1

**Mr. Andy Macke** was re-elected to the ATL Board for District 1. A Vice President of Client Services at CERM, Macke will serve a four-year term ending April 15, 2029. District 1 includes parts of Forsyth, Fulton, and Cherokee Counties.

## District 3

**Mr. Robb Pitts** was re-elected to the ATL Board for District 3. The Fulton County Chairman will serve a four-year term ending April 15, 2029. District 3 includes Cobb, Gwinnett, DeKalb, and Fulton Counties.

## **District 5**

**Mr. Alex Wan** was elected to the ATL Board for District 5. The Atlanta City Councilmember for District 6 and Assistant Vice President for Community Affairs at Emory will serve a four-year term ending April 15, 2029. District 5 includes parts of Fulton and DeKalb Counties.

## District 7

**Ms. Lorraine Cochran-Johnson** was elected to the ATL Board for District 9. The DeKalb County CEO will serve a four-year term ending April 15, 2029. District 7 includes parts of DeKalb, Gwinnett, and Rockdale counties.

#### **District 9**

**Mr. Howard Mosby** was re-elected to the ATL Board for District 9. The former legislator and Vice President at Grady Health System will serve a four-year term ending April 15, 2029. District 9 includes parts of Clayton, DeKalb, and Henry Counties.

#### **ATL Board Election Process**

The ATL is governed by a 16-member board — 10 of the 16 members represent 10 different "transit districts" that intentionally cross metro Atlanta county boundaries. Caucuses comprised of local elected officials and state legislators representing each transit district meet to elect their respective transit district's board member. Per Georgia statute, individuals elected to serve on the ATL board must be a resident of their district and possess significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of the organization.

## About the Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority

The ATL was created by the Georgia General Assembly during the 2018 legislative session to provide coordinated transit planning and funding for the metro Atlanta region. The ATL is responsible for developing the ATL Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit. The ATL is also charged with creating a unified regional transit system brand. Effective July 1, 2020, the ATL was legislatively authorized to oversee the state's Xpress regional commuter transit system and the Atlanta region's vanpool system. The population of metro Atlanta is growing rapidly and projected to add an additional 2.5 million residents by 2040. The ATL is a critical step towards more efficient and effective transit and mobility in the region. For more information on Xpress and the ATL, visit <u>https://atltransit.ga.gov/</u> and follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

<sup>###</sup>