Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) Holds Board Member Elections

For Immediate Release:

March 12, 2021

Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) Holds Board Member Elections

Fulton Chairman Robb Pitts elected to District 3 seat, current Board Members for Districts 1, 5, 7 and 9 re-


ATLANTA – The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) held Board Member elections on March 9th and 10th and has officially announced election results for Districts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9.

District 1

Andy Macke was re-elected to serve a four-year term. Macke is the Vice President External Affairs at Comcast

Cable. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Political Science from the University of Georgia and master’s degree in Telecommunications Policy from Georgia Institute of Technology.

District 1 includes all of Cherokee County, and parts of Forsyth and Fulton Counties.

District 3

Robb Pitts was elected to serve a four-year term replacing Steve Dickerson who did not seek re-election. Pitts is the

Chairman of Fulton County Board of Commissioners. Robb earned his undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate degrees in education, business, languages and Latin American Studies at Ohio University, La Academia Hispanoamericana, Kent State University and La Universidad Interamericana. He has a master’s degree in business administration from Emory University.

District 3 includes parts of Cobb, DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett Counties.

District 5

Tom Weyandt was re-elected to serve a four-year term. Weyandt is a former transportation policy and planning

official. He has a bachelor’s degree from the Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University.

District 5 includes parts of DeKalb and Fulton Counties.

Office of Communications & Engagement

245 Peachtree Center Avenue, Suite 2200 Atlanta, GA 30303

District 7

Michael L. Thurmond was re-elected to serve a four-year term. Thurmond is the Chief Executive Officer of

DeKalb County. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy and Religion from Paine College and a Juris Doctorate from the University of South Carolina’s School of Law.

District 7 includes parts of DeKalb and Gwinnett Counties, and all of Rockdale County.

District 9

Howard A. Mosby was re-elected to serve a four-year term. Mosby is the Vice President of Faculty Contracts

Administration in Medical Affairs at Grady Health System. He was elected to the Georgia House of Representatives in 2002 and concluded his service as a member of the General Assembly in December 2018.

District 9 includes parts of Clayton, DeKalb and Henry Counties.

“On behalf of the Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority Board, I am pleased to welcome Fulton County Commission Chairman Robb Pitts as the newly elected member for District 3”, said ATL Board Chair, Charlie Sutlive. “I look forward to working with Chairman Pitts and our returning re-elected Board members to continue improving transit and mobility options within the metro Atlanta area.”

The ATL is responsible for developing the ATL Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit in the 13-county metro Atlanta region. Details regarding the ATL Board Election process and election results are summarized below.

ATL Board Election Process

The ATL is governed by a 16-member board — 10 of the 16 members represent 10 different “transit districts” that intentionally cross metro-Atlanta county boundaries. Caucuses comprised of local elected officials and State legislators representing each transit district meet to elect their respective transit district’s board member. Per the ATL’s originating legislation, signed in 2018, individuals elected to serve on the ATL board must be a resident of their district who possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of the organization.

ATL Board elections for Districts 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 will take place in 2023. For more information on the Atlanta-

Region Transit Link Authority, please visit

  • Media Inquiries
  • General Questions
  • Title VI Contact