Frequently Asked Questions

Have a question?

If your question is not answered here, please let us know. We will update this page regularly.
What is the ATL?
The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) is a regional transit governance and funding structure created when Governor Nathan Deal signed HB930 into law on May 3, 2018. It’s focused on improving coordination, integration and efficiency of transit in metro Atlanta. A regional transit plan encompassing all transit projects and initiatives will be developed, containing access to new funding sources for activities within it.
What counties are included?
The ATL has been tasked specifically to develop a regional transit plan for a 13-county area; Cherokee, Clayton, Coweta, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding and Rockdale counties.
What about funding?
The ATL will oversee federal and state transit funds in the region. Counties within the ATL can hold a referendum to raise an additional sales tax of up to 1 percent for up to 30 years. The ATL can issue its own bonds and can work with other state agencies to issue bonds.
What will happen to MARTA and other existing transit systems?
The ATL will work closely with all existing and future transit systems. Current providers have their operational and funding autonomy preserved. MARTA will remain responsible for operating the region’s heavy rail system, including any new heavy rail projects.
How do I file a discrimination complaint?
Any person who believes that he or she has been subjected to discrimination or retaliation based on their race, color, or national origin may file a Title VI complaint. Complaints may be filed directly with the ATL or the Federal Funding Agency. Complaints must be filed in writing and signed by the complainant or a representative and should include the complainant’s name, address, and telephone number or other means by which the complainant can be contacted. Access the complaint form.
  • Media Inquiries
  • General Questions
  • Title VI Contact