Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) to Hold Mayoral Caucus Leading Up to Board Election for District 8 Will be held via teleconference on Monday, February 21, 2022

ATL Logo

Office of Communications & Engagement
245 Peachtree Center Avenue, Suite 2200 • Atlanta, GA 30303

Ericka B. Davis
Chief Communications Officer
o: 404-893-3033 | c: 404-226-9339 |  [email protected]

Tiffany L. McCall
Communications and Media Relations Director
o: 404-893-3025 | c: 404-240-7531 | [email protected]

For Immediate Public Notice: February 20, 2022

Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) to Hold Mayoral Caucus Leading Up to Board Election for District 8

Will be held via teleconference on Monday, February 21, 2022

ATLANTA – The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority will hold a Mayoral Caucus to select the Mayoral Representative for District 8. The Caucus will select a Mayor from amongst their group to represent them in the ATL District 8 board member election, scheduled to occur at the State Capitol on March 16, 2022.  The ATL District 8 Board seat was made vacant with the resignation of former Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms from the ATL Board, effective January 28, 2022.

WHO: Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority

WHEN: Monday, February 21, 2022 at 4:30 p.m.

WHERE: Pursuant to O.C.G.A. 50-14-1(g), the ATL is holding the Mayoral Caucus by teleconference due to the emergency conditions affecting public safety caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The public will be afforded simultaneous access to the teleconference meeting by the means described in this notice.

Click here to view the teleconference meeting

WHAT: Transit District 8 Mayoral Caucus – the mayors of  12 cities within ATL District 8 are scheduled to meet Monday for the first step necessary to select a board member to the Atlanta-region Transit Link Authority. The ATL is responsible for implementing transit projects across 13 metro counties and ensuring plans connect efficiently across jurisdictions. The mayor selected at this meeting will participate as an elector in the March 16th District 8 Board Member election, along with the Mayor of Atlanta, the County Commission Chairs from Cobb, Douglas, and Fulton Counties, and state representatives and senators whose districts overlap with ATL District 8.  The individual elected on March 16th will fill the remainder of the current term, until April 15, 2023.

District 8 includes parts of Cobb and Fulton Counties, and all of Douglas County. Municipalities included are Atlanta, Austell, Chattahoochee Hills, College Park, Douglasville, East Point, Fairburn, Palmetto, Smyrna, South Fulton, Union City, and Villa Rica.
About the Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority

The ATL was created by the Georgia General Assembly during the 2018 legislative session to provide coordinated transit planning and funding for the metro Atlanta region. The ATL is responsible for developing the ATL Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit. The ATL is also charged with creating a unified regional transit system brand. Effective July 1, 2020, the ATL was legislatively authorized to oversee the state’s Xpress regional commuter transit system and the Atlanta region’s vanpool system. The population of metro Atlanta is growing rapidly and projected to add an additional 2.5 million residents by 2040. The ATL is a critical step towards more efficient and effective transit and mobility in the region. For more information on Xpress and the ATL, visit and follow us on Twitter and Facebook.




  • Media Inquiries
  • General Questions
  • Title VI Contact