First Two Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (ATL) Board Elections Held This Week 

Georgia State Representative Howard Mosby and Dr. Steve Dickerson elected to represent Districts 9 and 3 Respectively

The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority (The ATL) is pleased to announce that two of the 10 elections for the ATL Board were held this week electing members to represent Transit Districts 9 and 3. The ATL will be governed by a 16-member board—10 of the 16 members represent 10 different “Transit Districts” that intentionally cross county boundaries. Caucuses comprised of local elected officials and State legislators representing each transit district gathered to elect their respective transit district’s board member. HB930 prescribes that the individual elected to serve the ATL board must be a resident of that district who possesses significant experience or expertise in a field that would be beneficial to the accomplishment of the function and purpose of the ATL.

The first election held was for Transit District 9 and took place on Tuesday, October 23rd. State Representative Howard Mosby was elected to serve a 2-year term. Mosby will step down from the Georgia House of Representatives before assuming his role on the board. District 9 includes parts of Clayton, DeKalb and Henry Counties. Municipalities included are Atlanta, Decatur, Forest Park, Jonesboro, Lake City, Locust Grove, McDonough, Morrow, Riverdale, Stockbridge, and Stonecrest. Transit Operators servicing District 9 are MARTA and Xpress.

The second election held was for Transit District 3 on Wednesday, October 24th. Steve Dickerson, Sc.D. was elected to serve a 2-year term. District 3 includes parts of Cobb, DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett Counties. Municipalities included are Atlanta, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Doraville, Dunwoody, Kennesaw, Marietta, Peachtree Corners, Sandy Springs, Smyrna. Transit Operators servicing District 3 are CobbLinc, MARTA, and Xpress.

Representative Mosby and Dr. Dickerson will join Board Chairman Charlie Sutlive (appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal), Teddy Russell and Mark Toro (appointed by Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle), and Chairwoman Charlotte J. Nash and Rep. Earl Ehrhart (appointed by House Speaker David Ralston) on the ATL Board.

The next scheduled election is Transit District 4 which will be held October 30th at the Cobb County Civic Center located at 548 S. Marietta Parkway, Marietta, Georgia at 4:00 p.m. District 4 includes parts of Cobb and all of Paulding County. Municipalities included are Acworth, Austell, Braswell, Dallas, Hiram, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs, and Smyrna. Transit Operators servicing District 4 are CobbLinc, MARTA, and Xpress.

For more information on ATL Board elections, please visit Elections dates and locations are posted as they are scheduled on the ATL website under “upcoming events” and are open to the public.

About Representative Howard Mosby

Mosby is the Vice President of Faculty Contracts Administration in Medical Affairs at Grady Health System. He was elected to the Georgia House of Representatives in 2002 and will conclude his service as a member of the General Assembly in December 2018. As a member of the House, Mosby served on the House Ways and Means Committee, the House Health of Human Services Committee, and the House Governmental Affairs Committee. Mosby’s legislative initiatives include legislation to increase access to healthcare by the underserved and uninsured populations of Georgia, child endangerment legislation, property tax reductions, predatory lending legislation, and strengthening code enforcement laws. He is the Chairman of the Dekalb House Delegation to the General Assembly. Mosby serves as Chair of the 1st Choice Credit Union Board of Directors. He received an Associate Degree in Business Administration from Georgia Perimeter College, formerly Dekalb College and received his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Finance from Georgia State University. Mosby is a Georgia licensed Certified Public Accountant.

About Steve Dickerson, Sc.D.

Dr. Dickerson served as Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Georgia Tech until his retirement in 1996. In 2005 he became an Honorary Alumnus of Georgia Tech. His primary areas of expertise include Urban transportation, automation, and advanced manufacturing. Dr. Dickerson’s specific research projects have led to the founding of various companies. Examples include: DVT

Corporation which revolutionized machine vision and was sold for over $100 M in 2005; CAMotion, Inc. made breakthroughs in light-weight, high performance robotics and sold to PaR Automation in 2014 where sales are now approximately $15M/year; RideCell uses advanced communications and computing to support urban transportation, is growing rapidly, and now based in San Francisco; and SoftWear Automation Inc. should enable the return of garment cutting and sewing to the USA. He holds several patents concerning these technologies. Dr. Dickerson received his Doctor of Science degree from MIT, Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering degree from Berkeley, and Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from IIT.

About the Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority

The ATL was established by HB 930 to provide coordinated transit planning and funding for the metro Atlanta region. The ATL is responsible for developing a Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit. The ATL is also charged with creating a unified regional transit system brand. The population of metro Atlanta is growing rapidly — projected to add an additional 2.5 million residents by 2040. The ATL is a critical step towards more efficient and effective transit and mobility in the region. For more information on The ATL, visit and follow us Twitter and Facebook.

  • Media Inquiries
  • General Questions
  • Title VI Contact