Making it easier for people within metro Atlanta to go from where they are to where they need to be within the region.

ATL Quick Links

The Atlanta-Region Transit Link Authority has designated Merryl Mandus as the Open Records Officer upon whom requests for inspection and copying should be made. All requests for records should be emailed to or mailed to the attention of the Open Records Act Officer, 245 Peachtree Center Avenue, Suite 2200, Atlanta, GA 30303.



The ATL was established by HB 930 to provide coordinated transit planning and funding for the metro Atlanta region. The ATL is attached to the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA) for shared administrative resources and is governed by a 16-member board. The ATL is responsible for developing a Regional Transit Plan, as well as identifying and prioritizing the projects and initiatives required to develop region-wide transit. The ATL is also charged with creating a unified regional transit system brand. The population of metro Atlanta is growing rapidly — projected to add an additional 2.5 million residents by 2040. The ATL is a critical step towards more efficient and effective transit and mobility in the region.

The ATL was created as a new regional governance and funding structure, to improve coordination, integration and efficiency of transit in metro Atlanta. A regional transit plan encompassing all transit projects and initiatives will be developed, containing access to new funding sources for activities within it.

The legislation was sponsored by the following:

  • Senator Brandon Beach
  • Representative Kevin Tanner
  • Representative Calvin Smyre
  • Representative Christian Coomer
  • Representative Jason Shaw
  • Representative Mary Margaret Oliver
  • Representative Meagan Hanson

Click to see legislation

The Executive Director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (Chris Tomlinson) shall serve as a temporary director until the board is constituted and an executive director is appointed by such board.

The structure of the ATL is comprised of five essential components.

The ATL in 5 Parts


1. Regional Governance
A 16-member Board of Directors will be named by Dec. 1, 2018. Members will serve four-year terms. The Board will be comprised of:

2. Regional Transit Plan
A core activity of the ATL will be the development of
a regional transit plan developed for six and 20-year
time horizons. The plan will be developed in consultation with the region’s metropolitan planning organizations.

3. Regional Transit Funds
The ATL improves access to transit funding and expands
transit-specific local sales and use tax (TSPLOST) options. Counties within the ATL can hold a referendum to raise an additional sales tax of up to 1 percent for up to 30 years.

4. Regional Unified Branding
The ATL will create a unified brand to encompass all transit
service providers within the jurisdiction. The new logo must be utilized by MARTA on certain new assets acquired after Jan.1, 2019 and all transit assets by 2023.

5. Interaction with Existing Transit Operators
The ATL will work collaboratively with transit service
providers operating within the region.

Planning and Funding

The regional transit plan is one of two core activities for the ATL. It will serve as the official multiyear plan for transit services and facilities for a 13-county area – Cherokee, Clayton, Coweta, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding and Rockdale.

Regional stakeholders, including local governments, may submit requests to the ATL for additions and amendments to the plan based on changing conditions.  After Jan. 1, 2019, referendum transit projects must be in the plan and approved by the ATL.

The ATL will oversee all federal and state transit funds in the region, which is its second core activity. Counties within the ATL can hold a referendum to raise an additional sales tax of up to 1 percent for up to 30 years. Counties outside of the 13-county region can pair together to use new T-SPLOST authority.

The ATL can issue its own bonds and work with other state agencies to issue bonds.

Special provisions are included for Gwinnett, Cobb and Fulton counties.

  • Gwinnett County – will hold a March 2019 TSPLOST referendum on joining MARTA.
  • Cobb County – can create a special district within Cobb, hold a TSPLOST referendum and enter into a contract with MARTA to provide transit services within such special district at any time up to Dec. 1, 2019.
  • Fulton County – can hold a referendum for additional an 0.2 percent sales tax for non heavy rail transit.

All existing transit agencies still exist and will continue to exist. These include MARTA, the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority, the State Road and Tollway Authority, the Atlanta Regional Commission, Gwinnett County Transit, CobbLinc, CATS and others.

The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority ,will have with exclusive authority for operating region’s  heavy rail system, including any new heavy rail projects. MARTA controls its current local funding and federal formula funding, and its legal contractual obligations are unaffected.

The Georgia Regional Transportation Authority’s (GRTA) authority over the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), the Developments of Regional Impact and the Governor’s Development Council remain intact as they exist today.

The ATL is administratively attached to GRTA. GRTA’s role in regional transit transitions to the ATL no later than July 1, 2020.

The State Road and Tollway Authority’s (SRTA) tolling, Georgia Transportation Infrastructure Bank ,and transportation financing roles remain intact.

SRTA’s GO! Transit program will be coordinated with the ATL. SRTA’s role in regional transit operations transitions to the ATL no later than July 1, 2021.

The Atlanta Regional Commission and the ATL will work closely together to revise the current regional transit process. They also will work to ensure that the regional transit plan aligns and integrates with TIP and STP processes and funding.

Gwinnett County, CobbLinc and the Cherokee Area Transportation System (CATS) have many options going forward.

Make it easier for people within metro Atlanta to go from where they are to where they want or need to be within the region.

The benefits to metro Atlanta visitors and residents, are numerous. With the ATL, the state of Georgia will be able to:

  • Plan strategic transit expansion projects within the region,
  • Mesh the current service offerings into a connected network of options for current and potential customers
  • Combine existing public transportation resources with innovative partnerships with private sector providers, such as rideshare companies and technology providers
  • Increase the seamlessness of the customer experience
  • Address first mile and last mile connectivity gaps
  • Improve overall value for the end user
  • Transition from providing segmented trips where we plan in silos defined by modes to providing integrated journeys across multiple travel modes where and when it makes sense

Transit District Board Member Election Process

HB 930 creates a process for electing 10 Board Members for the new ATL (Atlanta-region Transit  Link Authority), which involves multiple elected officials throughout 10 different “Transit Districts”  that intentionally cross county boundaries. ATL Board members, according to HB 930, must be  elected no later than December 1, 2018. Click on the links below to view the Board Member election process by Transit District:

The ATL in the News

For Questions Contact:
Scott Haggard
Director of Government and External Affairs
o: 404-893-2055 | c: 678-471-7259|

For Media Inquires:
Scheree Rawles
Director of Communications and Media Relations
o: 404-893-3025 | c: 470-249-7531|

Title VI Contact:

ATL Civil Rights Officer

o: (404) 893-2100